Illinois Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis has reappointed TDR Partner Michael Rothstein to her Judicial Screening Committee. The Committee assists Justice Theis in evaluating the qualifications of applicants for judicial vacancies in the Circuit Court of Cook County. Mr. Rothstein has served on the Committee since 2012.

An excerpt from the December 2, 2021 Supreme Court of Illinois Press Release follows:


Illinois Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis announced today the addition of new members to her Judicial Screening Committee.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those persons who have applied for appointment to the Office of Judge of the Circuit Court for Cook County. The committee is currently reviewing candidates for vacancies created by the retirements of Judge Joan O’Brien and Judge Sharon Sullivan. Under the Illinois constitution, the vacancies will be filled by Supreme Court appointment.

“I welcome the new members and thank them for their service,” Justice Theis said. “It is important to have a diverse committee to reflect the community we serve.” After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the
applicants, it will report its findings to the Illinois Supreme Court, which will make the appointments from the applicants who have been screened by the committee. The persons appointed will serve as a judge of the Circuit Court until the general election to be held in November 2022.

The new members of the screening committee are Co-Chair Patricia Brown Holmes, Leynee Cruz Flores, James Botana, and John Gallo. The returning members of the committee are Co-Chair Hon. Wayne R. Andersen (Ret.), the Hon. David Coar (Ret.), Mary Dempsey, Denise Kane, Beth Kaveny, Mike Monico, Michael Rothstein, Sister Cathy Ryan, Richard Waris, and Mark Wojcik.